We want to send your Theft Alert email as soon as possible to let you know what has happened to your device right away. Sometimes this means that we don't capture a photo or the location of your device in time before the email is sent. You can always log into Lookout.com to locate your device, even if you don't receive a location in the Theft Alert email, but the camera will not be triggered until another Theft Alerts event occurs.
Android 12 has a modification to the Camera permission. 'Allow Always' is no longer available so apps can no longer activate the camera when running in the background. Lookout runs in the background at all times in order to provide our comprehensive device protection, but with this change, the app can't trigger the camera during a Theft Alert event. The device will still be located and our full protection suite is still active.